Aug 10, 2018

Triple triumph for New Hope Group

Triple triumph for New Hope Group Jeebropilly mine’s Paul Hutchins with an automatic braking system ready for install.

New Hope Group has won three 2018 ABA100 Australian Business Awards for innovative use of x-ray technology and automatic braking systems as well as its contribution to community.

Managing director and chief executive officer Shane Stephan said the company had a long history of backing in-house innovation, with the workforce seeking to continually improve, streamline and progress its operations.

A trial of x-ray sorting technology by New Hope’s New Acland Mine was recognised as an 2018 ABA100 winner for Business Innovation for its ability to improve the quality of coal before its processed through the mine’s wash plant.

New Hope’s Jeebropilly Mine was also named an ABA100 winner for Business Innovation for its automatic braking system, a failsafe braking design that ensures safe passage of mining equipment underneath road overpasses and bridges.

Developed on site by Jeebropilly’s maintenance team, the technology has since been installed across the site’s mining fleet.

New Hope was also named ABA100 winner in the Community Contribution category for its work in communities around its operations, including its commitment to local procurement, industry skills programs and community consultation.

The award also recognises New Hope’s nine year partnership with RACQ LifeFlight Rescue which delivers aeromedical services and rural safety skills to locals living around New Acland mine.



Recent Stories

Subscribe to IQ Now