Jun 13, 2018

Solid results for regional structures in state architecture awards

Solid results for regional structures in state architecture awards

Projects in Townsville and Blackwater are among the key winners in the Australian Institute of Architects’ Queensland State Architecture Awards this year.

Liquid Blu’s work on the Blackwater Aquatic Centre earned the Public Architecture F.D.G. Stanley Award, with the jury noting that the centre responded sensitively to the climate and its rural context, making a positive contribution to the community.

Central Highlands Regional Council chief executive officer Scott Mason said the accolades the facility had drawn were a credit to everyone involved in its planning, design, construction and operation.

Last year, the centre took out the award for Design and Construction of Public Works Projects over $10 million at the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia, Queensland Excellence Awards.

Contractors Hutchinson Builders earned recognition for their role in the project at the Central Queensland Master Builder Awards, taking awards for Central Queensland Project of the Year, as well as Sporting Facilities and Commercial Building up to $5 million.

Meanwhile Townsville’s The Science Place at James Cook University was honoured at the Queensland State Architecture Awards with the Jennifer Taylor Award for educational architecture.

The Townsville Courts of Law – Edmund Sheppard Building won the Robin Gibson Award for enduring architecture.

Seventy-eight projects shortlisted for the state honours this year, some in multiple categories.

The Australian Institute of Architects said the highlight from this year’s judging was the exceptional quality of innovative projects emerging in Queensland’s regional communities.

Projects that received a state award are now in the running for the National Architecture Awards to be announced in November.

Full list of winners:
Commercial Architecture
Beatrice Hutton Award – The Stores, Cavill Architects in Association with Jasper Brown Architects
Award – Robina Market Hall Redevelopment, The Buchan Group
Commendation – 88 Limestone, Gibson Architects
Educational Architecture
Jennifer Taylor Award – The Science Place HASSELL
Award – The Centenary Library, Anglican Church Grammar School, Brand + Slater Architects Pty Ltd
Award – The Springfield Anglican College – Year 1 Classrooms, Architecture Kōen
Commendation – Griffith University Aquatic Centre, Conrad Gargett
Commendation – JK Murray Library Extension & Refurbishment, dwp | design worldwide partnership
Enduring Architecture
Robin Gibson Award – Townsville Courts of Law – Edmund Sheppard Building
Hall, Phillips & Wilson Architects
Commendation – 259 Queen Street Main Lobby Refurbishment, Cox Architecture + Ruth Woods Architect
Interior Architecture
GHM Addison Award – Gold Coast Sports and Leisure Centre, BVN
Award – Headricks Lane, SP Studio
Award – Marchetti & Optiko, Cameron & Co
Commendation – 1 William Street, Woods Bagot
Commendation – NAB Place, Woods Bagot
Public Architecture
FDG Stanley Award – Blackwater Aquatic Centre, Liquid Blu Architects
Award – Curra Community Hall, Bark Design Architects
Award – Les Wilson Barramundi Discovery Centre, Bud Brannigan Architects
Commendation: Gold Coast Sports and Leisure Centre, BVN
Commendation: Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve, Guymer Bailey Architects
Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)
Elina Mottram Award – Gibbon St, Cavill Architects
Award – Camp Hill Cottage, Owen Architecture
Award – One Room Tower, phorm architecture + design with Silvia Micheli & Antony Moulis
Award – Yeronga House, Tim Bennetton Architects
Commendation – Milton Residence, m3architecture
Commendation – Yarrawonga, Counterpoint Architecture
Residential Architecture – Houses (New)
Robin Dods Award – Stradbroke House, Tim Bennetton Architects with Gabriel Poole
Award – Carpenter-Hall House, Russell Hall Architects P/L
Award – Tarragindi Steel House, Bligh Graham Architects
Award – V House, Shaun Lockyer Architects
Commendation – Avonlea, Robinson Architects
Commendation – tinbeerwah house, teeland architects
Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing
Job & Froud Award – M3565 Main Beach, Virginia Kerridge Architect
Award – Abian, Wood Marsh Architecture with Sunland Group
Award – Oxley + Stirling, Elenberg Fraser
Award – Spire Residences, John Wardle Architects
Commendation – Kailani Beach Houses, Andrew Bock Architecture
Small Project Architecture
Hayes & Scott Award – Northshore Pavilion, Anna O’Gorman Architect
Award – Ryan Street Library, Jonathan Goh Architect
Commendation – Dinosaur Canyon Outpost, Cox Architecture
Commendation – UQ Architecture School Entry, m3architecture
Sustainable Architecture
Harry Marks Award – Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve, Guymer Bailey Architects
Award – Blackwater Aquatic Centre, Liquid Blu Architects
Award – The Science Place, HASSELL
Commendation – Yeronga House, Tim Bennetton Architects
Urban Design
Karl Langer Award – Parklands, AAA – Arkhefield, ARM and Archipelago Architects
Award – Beerwah Tower Green, Bark Design Architects
Commendation – Centenary Lakes Nature Play, PAWA Architecture + LandPlan
Commendation – The Link, Lat27
Award – Gold Coast Sports Precinct, BVN
Art & Architecture
The Australian Institute of Architects Art & Architecture Prize (Qld) – Corps a’ Corps at the IMA Coutyard, Artist: Celine Condorelli, Architect: Dirk Yates (Speculative Architecture), Landscape Designer: Pete Shields


Recent Stories

Subscribe to IQ Now