Apr 15, 2018

New chief for architecture profession

New chief for architecture profession

A well-known leader in the field of architecture has taken up a new post as Chair of the Board of Architects Queensland.

Bruce Medek’s appointment also marks the end of an era, with Professor Susan Savage completing a 15-year tenure in the role.

Housing and Public Works Minister Mick de Brenni paid tribute to Professor Savage’s invaluable experience in her five consecutive terms at the helm of the profession’s Queensland regulator.

“Professor Savage is one of the longest serving architects registration board chairs in the country and is highly respected in architecture at both state and national levels,” Mr de Brenni said.

“Her significant contributions to upholding professional standards and public confidence in the profession of architecture have contributed in no small way to the ongoing success of the Board.”

New Board of Architects Queensland chair Bruce Medek.

Mr de Brenni said Mr Medek had also forged a formidable reputation for his commitment to the profession since beginning work in the profession in 1984 as a student, then as a registered architect from 1995.

“Bruce brings to the role strong design talents, a commitment to clients and an in-depth knowledge of construction, contracts and standards,” Mr de Brenni said.

“His first practice, Gall and Medek Architects established in 1995, was recognised at national and international levels for exploring future links of people with the built and natural environments.

“In 2008 he became the youngest elected Queensland president of the Institute of Architects, becoming the Institute’s representative appointed to the Board of Architects Queensland, and now serves as an elected industry representative.

“Now director of Medek Architects, he has been a member of the board of Keep Australia Beautiful Queensland, which administers a range of community projects including Tidy Towns and Clean and Healthy Beaches.”

Mr de Brenni also announced three additional three-year appointments to the board that are effective until 31 March 2021 – legal representative and new Deputy Chair Jennifer McVeigh, regional representative Tania Dennis from Townsville and academic representative Lindy Osborne Burton.

Retiring from the Board is legal representative Christopher Douglas and regional representative Miles Blutcher (Townsville), while three remaining Board members have terms that continue through to 2019.

Recent Stories

Subscribe to IQ Now