Mar 27, 2018

National honour for Mount Isa engineer

National honour for Mount Isa engineer

Mount Isa-based mining engineer Michael Genockey had an early taste of the professional development benefits that the AusIMM offers.

He won an academic scholarship from the peak industry group in his first year of university and has been involved ever since.

Mr Genockey spent three years as student chapter president in Adelaide and is in his third term as secretary of the AusIMM North West Queensland Branch.

His service and achievements are due to be recognised in April as a recipient of the New Professional Award during the 2018 AusIMM Awards dinner.

“It’s a great privilege and honour to be recognised in that way,” Mr Genockey said.

Mr Genockey grew up in McLaren Vale, South Australia and studied a double degree in Mining Engineering and Geology at Adelaide University, graduating in 2015 with first-class honours

“Speaking from a student perspective (being part of the AusIMM) was really good for networking and connecting with people in the industry,” he said.

“There were many conferences we went to as well, like the New Leaders’ Conference, targeted at students and young professionals.

“It’s all about professional development and establishing a brand for yourself. (AusIMM) is very beneficial – that’s why a lot of students are involved.”

Mr Genockey accepted a graduate position with Glencore in Mount Isa, working underground in his first year.

His most recent rotation saw him employed as operations engineer and he has now moved into scheduling.

“Out in the North West, I got roped into being secretary (of the local AusIMM branch) pretty much as soon as I got off the plane,” he laughs.

Mr Genockey is one of three Queensland members receiving a national AusIMM honour in April, along with Corinne Unger and  David Hunter.

The full list of 2018 recipients is below:

The Institute Medal – Jim Askew

President’s Award – Peter Lilly, James Galvin

Honorary Fellowship – Gary Chilman, Rex Berthelsen, Ralph Holmes

Beryl Jacka Award – Neil Phillips

Professional Excellence – Ross McAree, Geoffrey Dunlop, Corinne Unger

New Professional Award – Michael Genockey

Best Paper Prize – “The importance of geometallurgical test work for industrial minerals projects” – William J Shaw and Andrew J Scogings (presented at the Tenth International Mining Geology Conference 2017)

Institute or Minerals Sector Service – David Hunter, Richard Evans, Adrian Pratt

Recent Stories

Subscribe to IQ Now